Semifinal 2022/2023

On January 19, 41 young philosophers participated in three local semifinals in Fribourg, Köniz and Wetzikon to write essays and participate in philosophical workshops. 13 of them qualified for the final in March!

Participants in Fribourg participate in a francophone workshop by Florian Gatignon on philosophy of time.

The semifinals of the 2022/2023 Swiss Philosophy Olympiad were hosted simultaneously in three schools: Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland in Wetzikon, which has been hosting a semifinal for several years, Collège de Gambach in Fribourg, which welcomed young philosophers for the second year in a row, and Gymnasium Lerbermatt in Köniz, which hosted the competiton for the first time. On January 19th, students met in all three location to write an essay during two hours and participate in a workshop on a philosophical topic.


The essay topics were:

  1. Should children be allowed to vote?
  2. How many distinct experiences does a person have at any given time?
  3. What distinguishes science from pseudo-science?
  4. Is the extinction of a species inherently a bad thing?

After anonymous grading, the top 4 essays of each semifinal were identified. 


Due to the outstandingly high level of the essays written in Fribourg, a one additional participant from that semifinal was invited. In addition, one "Nachrücker" (*) was nominated to take the place of a finalist who cancelled. In total, 13 young philosophers will participate in the final.


The two national winners qualify for the International Philosophy Olympiad, which is being organized by Greece (May 11 - 14). 


Our sincere thanks to all the many teachers and other volunteers who graded essays, held workshops and organized infrastructure for these semifinals! 


The following participants have been invited for the final (in alphabetic order):

Ana Maria Abril Gymnasium Neufeld Bern Collège de Gambach
Anthony Zufferey Lycée-Collège de la Planta Collège de Gambach
Bastien Aeby Kantonsschule Wettingen Gymnasium Lerbermatt
Fares Mourad Hull's School Zurich Collège de Gambach
Filipa Lüthy Gymnasium Liestal Collège de Gambach
Guihlem Demierre* Collège de Gambach Collège de Gambach
Kora Bürgi Kantonsschule Obwalden Gymnasium Lerbermatt
Laurine Frauchiger Kantonsschule Wil Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland
Mauro Baumann Berufs- und Weiterbildungszentrum Rapperswil-Jona Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland
Meike von Kampen Kantonsschule Kreuzlingen Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland
Nicole Ng Kantonsschule Ausserschwyz Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland
Noah Rosenbaum Gymnasium Oberwil Collège de Gambach
Sebastian Rojas Camenzind Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliches Gymnasium Rämibühl  Gymnasium Lerbermatt
Yannis Müller Gymnasium Muttenz Gymnasium Lerbermatt