First round 2020/2021

146 young philosophers submitted their essays for first round of the 2020/2021 Swiss Philosophy Olympiad.


Record participation

The first round of the 2020/2021 Swiss Philosophy Olympiad was concluded on the 5th of December, when our jury got together online to determine the most convincingly argued, original and relevant essays. A special thanks to the alumni who helped grade the essays: Svenja Hammer, gold medalist of 2018, Oona Wälti, gold medalist of 2019 and Manuel Beckert, Severin Rohrer and Nadine Jabornegg, gold and bronze medalists of 2020.

We consider this first round a great success: With 146 submissions, we cracked last year's record of 122. We were also able to significantly improve our Romandie participation. Merci à tous pour participer aux Olympiades de philosophie!


Four topics

The participants of the first round could choose from one of the four topics:

  1. Is it justified to spend the available resources on saving the life of one specific person, rather than using them to provide smaller benefits to many people?
  2. Why should we trust experts?
  3. „Thus it is correctly said that the senses do not err; yet not because they always judge correctly, but because they do not judge at all.“ (Immanuel Kant, Critique of Pure Reason)
  4. „Oppressive language does more than represent violence; it is violence.“ (Toni Morrison, Nobel prize speech 1993)

Number 4 and 2 proved particularly popular, prompting many participants to reflect about current events.


On to the semi-finals

The authors of the 45 best essays have been invited to the semi-finals at Collège de Gambach in Fribourg, Kantonsschule Zürcher Oberland in Wetzikon and Gymnasium Immensee. The semi-finals will be held on the 14th of January. While we are still hoping to meet in person, we are aware that new measures to contain the spread of Covid-19 on either a federal or a canton level may very well interfere with these plans. Therefore, we also have a plan B in place for a virtual alternative and we will communicate a decision to our semi-finalists in the first week of January.

The following participants qualified for the semi-finals (in alphabetic order):


AnnaScognamiglioGymnasium Bern-HofwilImmensee
BengüKarabiyikCollège de GambachFribourg
BodeObwegeserKantonsschule WilWetzikon
CoralieLeutholdInstitut FlorimontFribourg
DamarisSagerKantonsschule Zürcher OberlandWetzikon
ElifBerkcanKantonsschule BadenImmensee
ElisaKolbergKantonsschule BadenImmensee
ElliotSanchezCollège VoltaireFribourg
EnricoZurbuchenKantonsschule SolothurnImmensee
GianHalterKantonsschule WilWetzikon
Gian-AndreaCantielloKantonsschule Zürcher OberlandWetzikon
HéloïseSchaffterLycée cantonal PorrentruyFribourg
JérémieLoosliKantonsschule BadenImmensee
JessicaHauserKantonsschule Zürcher OberlandWetzikon
JohannBellwaldLycée-Collège de l'Abbaye de St-MauriceFribourg
KarthikSasikaranKantonsschule Zürcher OberlandWetzikon
LaetitiaSiffertCollège de GambachFribourg
LeelouRebohCollège de GambachFribourg
LéoCudré-MarouxCollège Sainte-CroixFribourg
LeonDietrichCollège de GambachFribourg
LiliKellerKantonsschule Zürcher OberlandWetzikon
LilyWatanabeKantonsschule Hohe PromenadeWetzikon
LorraineFerraliKantonsschule BadenImmensee
LouTroxlerGymnasium LerbermattImmensee
MarthaZwingenbergerKantonsschule am BurggrabenWetzikon
MartinBinottoKantonsschule KreuzlingenWetzikon
MartinCarnogurskyLeysin American SchoolFribourg
MichaelCarnogurskyLeysin American SchoolFribourg
MiriamMüllerGymnasium ImmenseeImmensee
NayaraScholerCollège de GambachFribourg
NityaRajanCollège St-MichelFribourg
NoahRosenbaumGymnasium OberwilImmensee
PhilippBurkhardtGymnasium KirchenfeldImmensee
PriskaSteinebrunnerAlte Kantonsschule AarauWetzikon
RahelScherrerGymnasium Neufeld BernImmensee
RobinSeelhoferKantonsschule WilWetzikon
RobinBruggerKantonsschule KreuzlingenWetzikon
SaraPopovicKantonsschule BadenImmensee
SarahDelapierreCollège de SaussureFribourg
SimonGerberGymnasium Neufeld BernImmensee
TiaraZwinscherKantonsschule UsterWetzikon
TinaHitzblechGymnasium Bern-HofwilImmensee
WimKunzGymnasium LerbermattImmensee
YannikKroneCollège de GambachFribourg
YuhuaGaoHull's School Ltd.Wetzikon

Autres articles


Kinder und Jugendliche entwerfen Energiespar-Roboter an regionaler Meisterschaft

Am 29. Mai und 5. Juni fanden die regionalen Meisterschaften der Robotik-Olympiade statt. Corona-bedingt hält die World Robot Olympiad Schweiz am neuen Format fest: Die 97 Teams von technikbegeisterten Kindern und Jugendlichen liessen ihre Roboter online über das Spielfeld surren.


Des jeunes Suisses distinguées à l’Olympiade internationale de philosophie

L’Olympiade internationale de philosophie (IPO) a eu lieu du 27 au 30 mai. Plus de 80 jeunes en provenance de 44 pays ont rédigé des dissertations. Yuhua Gao (Hull’s School, ZH) et Nitya Rajan (Collège St. Michel, FR) ont reçu des mentions honorables.


Gold für junge Geographinnen und Geographen

Am 15. 05. wurden die Resultate der sechsten Schweizer Geographie-Olympiade verkündet. 18 Jugendliche wurden für ihre Leistungen in den digital durchgeführten Prüfungen mit Medaillen ausgezeichnet. Die besten Vier werden die Schweiz an der Internationalen Geographie-Olympiade vertreten.



Les économes olympiques

La finale des Olympiades d’économie a eu lieu le 7 mai. Les 10 meilleur-es candidat-es sur 138 au départ se sont retrouvé-es à Glattbrugg (ZH) pour tester leurs connaissances économiques. Quatre d’entre eux-elles représenteront la Suisse lors des Olympiades internationales d’économie.


L’argent et le bronze pour les Suissesses à l’Olympiade européenne de maths

Quatre jeunes mathématiciennes ont participé à l’European Girls’ Mathematical Olympiad (EGMO) du 9 au 15 avril. Comme ce concours réservé aux filles avait lieu en ligne, elles n’ont pas passé les épreuves en Géorgie, pays hôte, mais dans les montagnes suisses.

Gagnants Olympiades de chimie 2020/21


Des médailles pour des réflexions scientifiques à la maison

La semaine de la finale des olympiades de chimie a eu lieu du 6 au 10 avril 2021. Pour une fois, pas au laboratoire de l’EPF de Zurich, mais à la maison. Les 17 meilleur-es des 406 candidat-es ont passé des épreuves de chimie exigeantes et ont été récompensé-es par des médailles.